How to delete a Twitch account (2022)


There are different reasons why you might want to delete your Twitch account, maybe you have created a new Twitch account and want to remove your old one, or maybe you are changing streaming platforms and no longer need a Twitch account.

This guide outline how to delete/disable your Twitch account.

If you instead want to change your Twitch username, please see our guide on how to change your Twitch username.

How to delete a Twitch account

It’s not currently possible to delete a twitch account, Twitch does offer the ability to disable your Twitch account, Although this does remove your account from public viewing, it doesn’t remove your personal information from Twitch.

Deleting / Disabling your Twitch account can be done by following the steps below;

1. Login to Twitch and go to the Account Settings page.

2. Scroll to the bottom of the Account Settings page and click “Disable Account”.

3. Optionally, you can fill in the form to tell Twitch why you’re leaving.

4. Click the “Disable Account” button to disable your account.

Your Twitch account will automatically log out and you will get the following message to confirm you successfully disabled your account, “Your account has been disabled”.

Can people still see my Twitch account information after disabling my account?

Although Twitch doesn’t actually delete your account, If someone was to try and access your channel, they will not be able to see your channel details.

When viewing a Twitch channel that has been disabled, you will see a screen that states the following; “Sorry, Unless you’ve got a time machine, that content is unavailable”.

How to reactivate a Twitch account

If you want to reactivate a disabled Twitch account, this can be done if you simply log in to your Twitch account.

You may see a popup that requires you to click “Reactivate”.

You may also need to verify the login by entering the verification code which is emailed to the email address connected to your Twitch account.

Why you shouldn’t delete your Twitch account

It is not recommended to delete your twitch account unless you have a specific reason to do so. Even when deleting your account, Twitch doesn’t remove your user information, therefore it never is truly deleted.

Keeping your Twitch account allows you to continue to keep your brand active within the twitch community, even if it’s just watching other streamers and chatting.

What to consider before you delete your Twitch account.

Some of your viewers might be confused as to why your account is no longer accessible and therefore it’s highly recommended that you don’t suddenly delete your Twitch account and instead provide a period of notice.

If you are not able to give viewers notice before you delete your Twitch account, you should at least post on your social media accounts that you have deleted your account and could provide an explanation as to why.

What happens to the username of a deleted Twitch account?

Twitch parks unused usernames for 6 months before allowing them to be used by another person, therefore, you can technically delete your account and reactivate it again within 6 months without losing your username.

Conclusion

In the majority of cases, it’s not recommended to delete your Twitch account, instead, it would be better to keep the Twitch account activated but inactive.

Recent Posts